Festive Nails- Muted Jewel tones and Metallics 

19 Dec

BLOG-Mas DAY 19

On the 19th day of Blogmas I will share a nail tutorial. My idea of festive colurs in fashion and makeup is muted jewel tones and soft metallic tones. This tutorial reflects that. 

The nail colours I chose are by e.l.f who I genuinely did not know made nail polish until I saw their Christmas gift sets for sale. E.l.f is of course a prolific drugstore makeup  (and now nail polish) brand. Their products are usually good quality especially considering the pricepoint. This tutorial isn’t really about the brand of polish, more the colours but my mini review is that the colours are decent. They have good coverage and require two coats to achieve a really vibrant effect. I also live the size of the polishes as someone who doesn’t use a whole lot of nail polish, I feel as if I can actually get through one of these bottles.

My colour selection is : gold, navy and deep red. Additionally I will be using a multicolored glitter polish and a matte top coat to mute my shimmery blue and red jewel tones and a wedge (the original beauty sponge). If you have access to matte colurs then use them.

Red, gold and blue polish



STEPS

Step 1

To cleaned, cut and buffed nails, apply your basecoat.(Ignore the peeling skin on my finger)

Base coat

Step 2

Apply one coat of each colur. I selected my 4th digit (ring finger) as my accent nail and painted that one gold. I then alternated with blue and red on my remaining nails. Allow to dry.

One coat of each colour




Step 3

Apply a second coat of each colour and allow to dry. This particular polish achieved my desired look in just two coats. Apply as many coats as you need to get desired level of opaque.

Two coats




Step 4

Apply some glitter polish onto your wedge (the way I gave it pictured is the reverse of how it should be done) then apply it to the accent nail. The aim is to have denser application neat the tip of the nail with gradation down the nail (my nail isn’t long enough to completely pull this off) Once dry apply a regular top coat.

Glitter polish and sponge



Apply glitter




Step 5

Apply matte top coat to the four remaining digits and allow to dry.

Matte top coat



Mattified and gliterfied nails






Fini

Now you are ready for the party ! If you are like me and have no time or money to spend at a salon getting your nails done this is a great idea. I like the flexibility of being able to change(or remove) my polish after just a couple of days so DIY -ing  is great for me.

I love this colour combo.. I think it looks kind of classy and adult because of the darker tones but still very fun (#glitter)

Have an awesome day!

Leave a Reply

