Battle of the Blending Sponges- BB vs RT

13 Nov

Hello


BEAUTY BLENDER 

It all began with the (Original) Beauty Blender, a pink egg shaped sponge for $30 US dollars  that MUAs, Beauty gurus and makeup enthusiasts alike couldn’t get enough of . I wasn’t sold. $30 for a sponge! I didn’t care what it did. No way!

The ORIGINAL…Beauty Blender 

DUPES

Then came the dupes. This always happens when something becomes shockingly popular . Someone else makes a similar version usually for a lower price. We saw it happen with the Urban Decay Naked palettes: everyone had similar palettes called things like Nude and Natural and Buff. 

I remember the first blending sponge I bought .  It was black with an odd shape(not like an egg) and quite firm (okay hard) . It was from the brand KleanKolor which is the cheapest of cheap and it cost $2. I thought it was great. Shortly after that I realized there were “dupes” everywhere !  All the fast fashion stores, all the drug store brands, everywhere . Yet most gurus online still swore by the Original BB (OBB).

Until…

REAL TECHNIQUES SPONGE 


One day a YouTuber casually mentioned the Real Techniques(RT) sponge, saying it’s the only thing close to the OBB. I was intrigued .  I also came across a few other beauty gurus who mentioned a similar thing. Then, one of my absolute favorite beauty Youtubers ;  Emmy from EmilyNoel mentioned that she actually PERFERS the RT sponge over the OBB. What !  I decided to get my grubby paws on it ASAP and that I did. I was not disappointed . I would see other gurus compare the two and always name the OBB the winner but I couldn’t be swayed . No way was I paying $20-25 (the price came down slightly ) for a freaking sponge !  Not when I could get a RT sponge for $6. So I would never know the comparison and I wasn’t interested . 

The dupe to end all dupes- Real Techniques Miracle Complexion sponge 





Fast forward to a few weeks ago when I walked into Macy’s and saw a Beauty Blender Christmas set. For the price of approximately 2 OBB I could get: 1 OBB sponge, 1 BB Pro sponge (the black one), 1 solid cleaner, 1 Blotarazi blotting sponge and a BB micro mini. DEAL! I jumped on it. Finally I would try the precious Beauty Blender . Finally I would see what the fuss was all about. 

 Beauty Blender Gift set $40 at Macy’s 



I decided to try a few weeks of testing so I could give a more fair analysis and now that time has come. I will be comparing the Original Beauty Blender and the Real Techniques complexion miracle sponge .  Both companies have massively expanded their sponge lines since the launch of the originals but this is comparing original products  . 


COMPARISON
 

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion sponge    Original Beauty Blender sponge 

                                RT                                                                     OBB

COST                 $4.50- 6                                                           $20-25

SHAPE     Oblong with a pointed end                     Egg shaped with a pointed end 

                  a rounded body and a flattened           and a rounded end and body.

                  end.

COLOUR             Orange                                                                  Pink

SIZE           6cm or 2 1/2 inches                                  5cm or (just over) 2 inches

(Dry)

FEEL                       Soft                                                              Very Soft

Comparing the “squishiness” of the sponges. The OBB is softer when dry


RESPONSE         Increases  to                                  Increases to 7cm (just under

TO WATER         8cm (approx 3 inches)                3 inches)

                             Becomes very soft.

APPLICATION    Easy to blend gives  and           Less easy to blend and

                              gives airbrushed finish             gives airbrushed finish 

RT application  using Maybelline Fit Me liquid foundation 

OBB application using Maybelline Fit Me foundation 

Can you tell the difference ? No? Neither can I, lol.

CLEANING   Cleans easily with soap                    Cleans easily with soap

                      once washed immediately.              once washed immediately. 

                      Will ultimately stain .                        Ultimately stains.

                      Doesn’t bleed                                      No bleeding seen (reportedly

                                                                                       bleeds)

 


Final Assessment


Similarities 

Overall, I find these sponges very comparable. The OBB is softer when dry but they feel the same when wet. Both are fairly easy to use blending out foundation  quickly. They both give an ever so slightly dewy finish when used wet, not so much when dry. 

Diffences 

 The RT sponge does seem to remove a bit more of your foundation than the OBB which can be wasteful, however, I personally find that the less wet the RT sponge the less foundation it takes off.

 The flat end of the RT sponge gives a third surface to use and spreads foundation better than the rounded bottom of the OBB.

 In terms of durability I’ve had the OBB for a much shorter time than the RT sponge but I know most people use their OBB for up to a year and I used one RT sponge for  6 months before tossing it, by then it had one or two tears but was otherwise fully intact  (I don’t recommend keeping either sponge for that long, it’s germ city in there.)

Overall

All in all I can recommend either of these sponges.They are different,  I wouldn’t call the RT an exact dupe of the OBB, each has strengths and weaknesses the other does not and I would rate them equally.

 Being as frugal as I am, I prefer the RT sponge because it is less than 1/3 of the price and from all accounts lasts just as long . The OBB is good, I admit it and if you get your hands on a gift set like I did then go for it, but I will not be able to justify purchasing a sponge for $20 when I can get something very similar for $6. That’s what it boils down to for me, dollars and cents. 

Hopefully this review has helped you decide which sponge  (if any) to use and hope you have an awesome day . 

Leave a Reply

