Potato Soup

5 Oct

English potatoes and french bread

Hello

As the end of the year draws closer I am always more inclined to eat/make heartier foods; roasted meals, denser salads and thick flavourful soups.I suppose it’s because that’s what  all those home and lifestyle magazines splash on their covers-it’s all subliminal. ..

Anyway,  today I am sharing a recipe that was born out of desperation for something to eat back when I was a student. I remember mixing it up pretty much out of the blue and my flatmates and I completely demolished it. This is only the second time I have done it since then and I can barely remember what I put in it, so we’ll see where this goes. I have also paired it with some garlic bread.

POTATO SOUP 




WHAT YOU NEED 

1) Potatoes (I used Irish/English)- 450grams/1.1lb

2) Milk (I use Almond milk )- 3 cups

3) Cream cheese-  150g/4.5oz

4) Seasonings -black pepper, rosemary, basil, red pepper  and oregano flakes. 

5) Blender/nutribullet 

6) 2.8L/3 quart saucepan 

WHAT TO DO 

Prep -step: Remove cream cheese from fridge and allow to soften.

1) Bring water in saucepan to a boil then add potatoes (skin on)
2) Remove from pan allow to cool off (I pour off the hot water and add fresh cool water to expedite this) then peel.

Boiled and peeled potatoes



3) Mash potato along with cream cheese and seasonings- I added my seasoning to taste.

Softened cream cheese



4) Add the almond milk (or whatever milk you prefer) and blend until preferred consistency – I like mine smooth.
Plate and serve!

This can make about  4-6 servings (250mls or 8.5 oz each) but would also be excellent as appetizer shots.

To go along with this delectable soup I made an old faithful : garlic bread. Growing up we always had garlic bread with any kind of Italian style dinner (mostly lasagne and spaghetti ) and it is one of the first things I learned how to make. It is the combination of some firm (1-2 day old) French bread and garlic butter. My mother once told me people made it because their bread was going stale but they didn’t want to waste it. I don’t know if that’s true or not as she can sometimes tell tall tales…Hello mummy;) but it can be a good way to salvage bread that’s about to go.

GARLIC BREAD 

WHAT YOU NEED

1) French bread(a.k.a baguette)- I used about 1/3 of a loaf  which was about 12 inches of bread.

2) Butter- approximately 3 tbsp

3) Garlic clove

4) Seasonings/spices- black pepper,  garlic powder,  oregano.

WHAT TO DO 

1) Slice bread at a diagonal going about 7/8 way through so that the bread is held together just along the bottom.

Sliced bread




2)Dice garlic clove then  mix together with butter and seasonings.

Butter and seasonings 



Butter mixture 




3) Using a bread knife, place butter mixture between each slice and then over the top of the bread- you likely won’t need all the butter mixture so save it for later. 

Bread with garlic butter mixture




4) Place in foil with top exposed and bake until golden.

In foil 

Golden

Once done separate and enjoy! 

Finished garlic bread
This potato soup is creamy and tasty. The cream cheese makes it smooth and more full bodied while the natural potato flavour keeps it earthy. The golden garlic bread has a crispy outer ring with a moist garlicky centre. They go well together but stand alone as well.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this recipe and try it out for yourself. Have an awesome day!

Potato Soup and Garlic bread

4 Responses to “Potato Soup”

  1. foodinbooks October 5, 2016 at 15:45 #

    That looks tasty and unusual. I’d never have thought of using cream cheese as a soup thickener, but it makes sense. I’ll have to give this a whirl. Perfect for fall!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lacey October 5, 2016 at 17:57 #

    YUMMMM

    Like

  3. The Moment Keepers October 19, 2016 at 08:59 #

    looks delish! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • camsieb October 19, 2016 at 12:12 #

      It was! My family had it for dinner, they loved it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

