Food,Wine and Rum Festival

19 Nov

Image

Hey there,

It’s absolutely no secret that I love food, always have. However I can’t deny that a lot of my passion particularly for gourmet type dishes was borne from my obsession with many of Food Network’s cooking shows.

This explains why my heart nearly stopped when I learned that most esteemed Chef Marcus Samuelsson would be gracing my shores of Barbados for our annual Food,Wine and Rum festival.

But that wasn’t all, He was among other popular celebrity chefs some seen on Food Network as well.In addition, a number of local top chefs would be featured in this festival, I couldn’t wait.

This began my quest to obtain tickets to at least ONE event where I would see at least  ONE celebrity chef. Well as with most of my life it wasn’t without drama. Despite knowing about the festival at least 8 weeks in advance and despite knowing how many avid foodies inhabit my island my friend and I waited until the week before the festival to pursue tickets. 

Needless to say, the events were sold out. ALL! Every last one! We were devastated! Our dreams had been crushed. And  it was all self inflicted, we should have known better than to think high priced tickets would have deterred others from seeing some of the most famous faces in food, it certainly didn’t deter us.

I had an idea though, I visited one of the main ticket outlets “just to see” if they had so much as half of a ticket lying around. Of course, there were none. I literally asked if there were any tickets that might have accidentally dropped on the floor. Of course, the answer was still no. So, truly defeated, I made my way out of the store and down the steps. That was the moment my life changed………….. only seconds after exiting an employee came through the door and said “Ladies (my sister and I), someone just cancelled 2 tickets to an event, are you interested?”

Well I didn’t need to be asked twice, or even once for that matter. I didn’t even know which event it was for, I was just so desperate that I rushed inside. It turned out they had exactly 2 tickets for an event called “Ambrosia” where 12 chefs: 6 local and 6 guest would prepare a dish each and provide sample sized servings for the guests to taste, not to mention getting to see and meet the chef. I learned that among the guest chefs would be Aaron McCargo Jr and Anne Burrell from food Network. Others included Jose Garces, Paul Yellin (who grew up in Barbados)Marc Murphy(didn’t see him though). Without further adieu I purchased the 2 tickets (one for myself and the other for my friend)

Well the event was a roaring 20’s hit! Being sold out, it of course was packed but there was enough space that it wasn’t too cramped. Every chef had their station serving as previously mentioned, a sample size of a signature dish. I don’t think I tasted anything I didn’t like.

There was seared mahi mahi (by Anne Burell). This woman’s food tastes as good as you think it will.Chicken,mushroom and truffle soup,spicy buffalo chicken pasta( by Aaron McCargo Jr) seared tuna(rare), profiteroles,cheesecake. There were so many other dishes many whose names I can’t recall but it sure was delish! And the wine and rum was flowing!

My friend and I were on a celebrity chef stalking mission. Our target: Anne Burrell. We found her soon enough. She was approachable and friendly and we got our pics. Then I went to find Aaaron McCargo Jr and have a picture with him. The real treat however came when we feasted our eyes on someone not slated to be present at the event, who didn’t have a food station. It was none other than the new face of gourmet food in my opinion: Chef Marcus Samuelsson! I screamed and jumped up and down and literally ran over to him where my friend and I were able to have out picture taken with him.

All in all it was a pretty awesome night. The food was good, the atmosphere was happy and lively and I got to star watch. I shall leave with you some pics I took.

Have an awesome day!

Image

With Chef Aaron McCargo Jr

Image

With Chef Anne Burrell

Image

Myself and my friend Flavia with Chef Marcus Samuelsson #epic

 

Leave a Reply

